February 14, 2013


You are here: Home / Around the System / John Sharp Named Texan Of The Year By Legislative Conference

John Sharp Named Texan Of The Year By Legislative Conference

November 15, 2012 By tamus

November 15, 2012

Honor to be presented in New Braunfels March 21

NEW BRAUNFELS, Texas – Former Texas Comptroller and current Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp has been named the 2013 Texan of the Year by the Texas Legislative Conference, the well known annual statewide forum that is marking its 47th year next March.

Sharp will be presented with the award Thursday evening, March 21, at a special reception in his honor at the New Braunfels Civic/Convention Center. He will be joining an array of prominent past honorees since 1974 including Barbara Jordan, Laura Bush, Herb Kelleher and John Connally.

The Texas Legislative Conference is a nonpartisan organization of Texas business and political leaders who meet annually in New Braunfels to focus on public policy issues. This year’s topics on March 22 will include Medicare & Medicaid funding, transportation funding and a media panel review of post general election impacts on Texas.

According to Conference Chair Senator Jeff Wentworth, Sharp was selected for his service to the state and ability to work in a bipartisan manner to build a better Texas. “John has invested more than three decades of public service. He came to the A&M System from Ryan & Company, where he was a principal with the largest state and local tax consulting firm of its kind in Texas. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from Texas A&M University in 1972, where he was a member of the Corps staff of the Corps of Cadets and was elected student body president. Those early years of leadership skills serving those from all walks of life without deference to political parties have greatly benefited Texas.”

In 1978, Sharp was elected to the Texas House of Representatives and was named “Outstanding Freshman” by Texas Monthly. He won a seat in the Texas Senate in 1982, where he served on the powerful Senate Finance Committee, and was elected to the Texas Railroad Commission in 1986. Sharp was elected state comptroller in 1990 and re-elected in 1994.

Sharp is widely credited with reinventing Texas state government and turning it into a high-quality, low-cost customer service operation that has saved taxpayers billions, helping avert a state income tax and serving as a model around the world. “Many Texans fondly recall the times when then Gov. George W. Bush, John Sharp and others worked to solve challenges across party lines. That kind of partnership and spirit needs to emerge again in Austin and Washington, D.C.,” Wentworth said.

Information on registration and tickets for both the Thursday evening, March 21 Texan of the Year reception and the Friday, March 22 half-day conference program may be obtained from the Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce at (830) 608-2807 or by emailing tlc@nbcham.org.

Contact: Michael Meek, Conference Program Director
(830) 608-2808 or meek@nbcham.org

Senator Jeff Wentworth, Conference Chair
(210) 826-7800 or ejeffrey@swbell.net

Filed Under: Around the System, Homepage, News Release
gipoco.com is neither affiliated with the authors of this page nor responsible for its contents. This is a safe-cache copy of the original web site.