• The Handbook of Texas Online
  • TSHA Press
  • Education
  • Southwestern Historical Quarterly
  • Advertise
  • Buy the Texas Almanac
  • Login
  • Almanac Home
  • Searchable Town Database
  • Related Links
  • Teacher's Guide
  • About Us
  • Archive
  • Contact Us


spacer New 36 congressional districts of Texas.

For map of previous 32 districts and a list of Texas members of Congress, click.

  • Presidential Election 2012: Red Counties, Blue Counties
  • County-by-county Results for President, Senator
  • 2012 Texas Results for Federal Offices
  • 2012 Texas Results for State Offices
  • Democratic Party primary 2012
  • Republican Party primary 2012
  • Senate runoffs by county: Maps, Republican and Democratic


Historical Elections

  • Presidential Elections and Primaries, 1848 – 2012
  • Gubernatorial Elections and Primaries, 1845 – 2010
  • Senatorial Elections and Primaries, 1906 – 2012
  • Voter Turnout in Presidential Elections, 1872 – 2008


Prohibition Elections in Texas

The first election on the matter of liquor control was held in Texas on Aug. 7, 1854, following the passing by the Legislature of a law closing all places selling liquor in amounts less than one quart, except in those counties where the people voted for licensing such places.

In compliance with this law, Gov. E.M. Pease called elections and a large number of counties voted against the licensing, which meant the closing of saloons in those counties; that is, had not the law been declared unconstitutional shortly afterward. . . .


Report on the 82nd Legislature

By Carolyn Barta

An overwhelming Republican majority influenced by the grassroots tea party movement dominated the 82nd Legislature, resulting in a no tax-increase budget with record spending cuts and a conservative social issues agenda.

Gov. Rick Perry said Texas stood in stark contrast to other states after lawmakers approved a $172 billion two-year budget that slashed $15.2 billion or 8.1 percent from previous spending levels.

Lopsided elections in 2010 reflecting an anti-Washington sentiment and a recessionary economy with lowered anticipated sales tax revenue set the stage for a contentious 140-day regular session and an immediate 30-day special session required to finish the work. . . .




From the Almanac

2008 Presidential Primaries: Results by County

Map of the Democratic results

Map of the Republican results

The last presidential primaries in Texas were held March 4, 2008. The candidates still in the race at that time were:

in the Democratic primary, then-New York Sen. Hillary Clinton and then-Illinois Sen. Barack Obama.

in the Republican primary, Arizona Sen. John McCain, former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee, and U.S. Rep. Ron Paul of Texas.

In the following chart, the number of votes received by each candidate is listed along with the percent of the total vote received by each. When no votes are reported, no primary was held in that county by the party. . . .






gipoco.com is neither affiliated with the authors of this page nor responsible for its contents. This is a safe-cache copy of the original web site.