User login

  • Request new password
  • About
    • ESIP 101
    • ESIP FAQs
    • Leadership
    • Student Fellows
    • Governance
    • History
    • Staff
    • Sponsors
  • Membership
    • Partners
      • Type I Partners
      • Type II Partners
      • Type III Partners
    • Member Benefits
    • Member Resources
    • Join
  • Community
    • Collaboration Areas
      • Data and Informatics
      • Domain
      • Education and Outreach
    • Peer Recognition
      • ESIP of the Year Partner Award
      • Falkenberg Award
      • Maiden Award
      • President's Award
    • External Connections
  • News
    • Blog
      • Monday Updates
      • Highlights
      • Guest Bloggers
    • Member News
    • Press Releases
  • Meetings
    • Past Meetings
    • Telecons
    • Social Meet-ups
  • Commons
    • ESIP Testbeds
    • Interoperapedia
  • Opportunities
    • Jobs
    • Funding

Connect with ESIP: spacer spacer spacer spacer  spacer

  • View
  • What links here

Martha Maiden Award


In honor of Martha E. Maiden’s leadership, dedication and tireless efforts to nurture the ESIP Federation into a vibrant and mature organization, this award was established in 2009 to recognize outstanding service to the Earth science information community. This award honors individuals who have demonstrated leadership, dedication and a collaborative spirit in advancing the field of Earth Science information.

This award is named for Martha E. Maiden, NASA Program Executive for Earth Data Systems. Ms. Maiden is widely credited for nurturing the ESIP Federation in its infancy and has overseen its growth and maturity. This award will be presented on a regular basis, but not less than one time each year.

Application Procedure

Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis. To be considered for the January meeting, a complete nomination package (in pdf format) is due by October 31 of the preceding year. The following materials are required:

  • Nominating Letter
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Biography (1 page)
  • At least 2 supporting letters

The nominations will be reviewed by a small subcommittee of ESIP Federation partners. Applications can be held over for future award cycles and will require an updated nomination package. The next award will be presented at the January 2011 ESIP Federation meeting. For questions or to submit a completed nomination package, please contact Carol Meyer, or 919-870-7140.

Past Winners

2012 - Peter Fox

2011 - John Townshend

2010 - Bruce R. Caron

2009 - Martha E. Maiden

โ€น ESIP of the Year Partner Award up President's Award โ€บ
  • Printer-friendly version is neither affiliated with the authors of this page nor responsible for its contents. This is a safe-cache copy of the original web site.